Global Settings (set once and forget)

Aug 15, 2009 at 4:50 PM
Edited Aug 16, 2009 at 3:32 PM

This is an awesome product. The only thing I found that works. Great job!

I am new to this product; perhaps there is already a way to do this...

I am looking for a "universal" configuration, so that it won't be necessary for me enable build number incrementing for all my many projects, next time I open any of them. Frankly, I'm afraid I will forget to do it to every solution or project I open.

I'm a single developer, not on a team, and it would be neat if this add-in could increment every project I ever work on without having to specify settings for each solution.

I can see how this can be implemented relatively cleanly...

The global default settings feature could be accomplished by adding a node in the treeview above the solution node (the parent of the solution node, in other words the root), which represents "all solutions". The solution or project settings would (could) over-ride this global default setting, if their "Update Assembly Version" or "Update File Version" properties were True.

It looks like you are already evaluating an enumeration to configure when, or under what conditions, to increment the Assembly or File versions. In your evaluation of this new feature, if you decide some projects may need to never increment (regardless of the global default's value), the Boolean data type of the"Update Assembly Version" or "Update File Version" properties could become an enumeration with values "Always" (old True value), "Never" (old False value) and "Inherit" (or "Use Parent Setting"). The default value of these properties on never-before configured projects /  solutions would need to be "Use Parent Setting" in order for this feature to work for my request here; otherwise, I'm back where I started.

And of course the default global setting would be False (or Never) on both properties, so it would behave by default as it does today,

and be backwards compatible.